When Was The Last Time You Did Something For The Very First Time?

Interesting question that isn’t it? It certainly made me stop in my tracks – engage brain – and give it some serious thought…… how about you?

When was the last time you did something for the first time

When was the last time you did something for the first time

As any regular readers may know, some of my best ‘interactions’ come to me when I’m engaged in some social drinking, and this time’s no different. I was in a bar with some chums, and one of them asked me, straight out, “So, when was the last time you did something for the first time – and I bet it was some time ago” – WOW – this was a question that didn’t have ‘ready made’ answers, it was a question that demanded some thought. Were they right? Was it some time ago?

Now, the question is designed to get you thinking outside of your comfort zone, the point of the exercise, to coin a phrase, must be that:
“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always got”

So, how are you doing? Have you done something for the first time recently?

For me, I had had a BIG moment in the very same week that I was asked that question – it was a seriously engaging business challenge I was faced with, that caused me to do something unique. This blog probably isn’t the right place to share that with the world (some business issues are sensitive after all), but I DID share it with my chums in the bar. The interesting thing is that I wasn’t proud of what I had done. I saw it purely as a necessary/commercial decision – a tough one, and one that I hope I never have to make again, but not something to boast about. My chums, on the other hand were most impressed by my actions and thought it showed real character.

Leave a Reply

