How Do You Recognise Your Own Unique Skills?

I’ve been pondering on this question for a while. Ever since I heard a presentation from a guy called Gary May. he runs a business called ‘Salesology‘, which is all about helping people and companies, realise their sales potential. Well, during his short presentation, he challenged the group to consider “Ten things You Should Consider When Purchasing (insert your product or services here)”.

The idea here is that you create a list of things, your customers should consider, when they’re about to make a purchase. The point of course, is that aside from being honest, it should focus on the ‘uniqueness’ of your products or service offering, something that your competitors probably don’t have, or at least if they do, they wont have all TEN of them. The challenge is this: every single one of the people in the the same group I was in, that heard the exact same presentation, ALL said – “what a brilliant idea, I’ll go away and work on those ten things right now” – and yet here we are, maybe five months later, and not a single one of them has done it yet.

I believe it’s mostly because they are struggling with understanding their ‘uniqueness’. What we’re really saying is, “why do people buy off of you, and not your competitors”? It’s really tough to blow your own trumpet isn’t it? So I say this, go talk to some close associates, people who truly understand your business, and ask them to tell you. After you’ve done that, why not ask your customers? You might be surprised at what you hear!!

2 Responses to “How Do You Recognise Your Own Unique Skills?”

  1. Ha! I’m so glad that tonight’s meet up stimulated your sharing this. I now remember where I had heard this before. Twas you! Recalling it a couple of weeks ago sat in your office with a cup of coffee.

    Sometimes we need the bleeding obvious to slap us around the chops a few times before we finally take notice.

    • Funny old world eh? There you were talking to me and trying to remember where you’d heard this all before!! The most telling part of my tale though, is that to the best of my knowledge, after hearing this talk 5 months ago, nobody has put their list together. Actually, not quite true – For example, I put my first draft together last week, and this very morning, a customer of mine (who heard the talk), has shown me his proposal for an article in my company newsletter, and guess what? He’s put together his ‘ten things’…. things are changing and action is being taken….

Leave a Reply

