Anger Management – What’s that got to do with me?

Yellow Card

Yellow Card

We all know the expression – “The customer’s always right” don’t we? But when push comes to shove, how often are they??? I realised just how frustrating it can be when I came back to the office the other day, sat down in the main office to see and hear how the day was going, to be met by one member of staff ‘off loading’ his frustrations…. he rattled on and on and on….. just frustrated really, but needing to get it off his chest at the difficulty he’d just endured with a customer.

I smiled, even had a chuckle, as I realised I’d often done exactly the same thing in reverse….. and then I made a statement: ” you know what we need, we need a yellow and red card system, like the referee uses in football – and you rant just now deserves a yellow card”!!! It went down well. Everyone thought it was funny. Why shouldn’t we be allowed to ‘let off steam’, and share our frustrations – after all, everyone else in the office knew the feelings only too well.

Next day at work, there was a pile of cards per person, two yellow cards and one red, each with an image of that person (slightly annoyed)….. and so you’re now allowed up to TWO moans a day – but no more than that, or you get a red card and are on tea duty for the rest of the day.

So, whilst I don’t think of myself as an ‘angry’ person – I guess I am dealing with issues, frustrations, and such like, on a daily basis, and a system like this seems to me to be a gentle way of letting off steam. What do you think?

 

2 Responses to “Anger Management – What’s that got to do with me?”

  1. I can just imagine you handing out the red cards Richard. But just make sure you encourage everyone else to get theirs given to them first though cos that way you’ll avoid ever having to do ‘tea duty’ ever again šŸ™‚

  2. Hi Richard I’ve just nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award too, you can find out more here: http://womanontheedgeofreality.com/2012/05/27/beautiful-blogger-award/ šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

