Do You Go After The Herd – Or Do You Cater For Minorities?

Could be contentious this one, so I’d better be careful – especially when you see where I’m going with the ‘minority’ group.

In business, it generally makes sense to go where the mass market is. If I’m selling football scarves, it would make sense to put my market stall on the approaches to the football ground on the morning of the big match. Simples….

But, what about selling scarves to a much smaller demographic – say, for example, landscape gardeners? They work in the cold, need to dress warm, and probably need scarves, don’t they? The problem as I see it is three fold:

1: Their numbers won’t be as big as a football crowd.
2: They probably don’t care if their gift is ‘branded’ (which for my business, RT Promotions,  is after all the point)
3: They don’t naturally gather together in large groups on a regular basis (makes it harder to reach them)

So, it reinforces the argument to go after the numbers right?

Well, I’d like to introduce my ‘minority’ group to you – left handed people – aka left handies

I think they’re a part of society that’s often neglected, and for my part, as the owner of a promotional gifts company, I’m on a mission to highlight their plight. Take for example the typical promotional printed pen. Go on, pick one up, I bet you’ve got a few on your desk that have someone’s logo and/or message printed on them. Got one? Now do something different with it…. hold it in your LEFT hand, as though you were going to write with it…. and take a look at the logo/message printed onto it. I bet it’s upside down?

Almost every promotional pen I’ve ever seen, and trust me on this, I’ve seen thousands, has been printed for a right handed audience. Now just think about that. Given that it’s believed that 10% of the worlds population is left handed, maybe you could go on a mission to appeal to them. After all, on a printed pen, all you have to do is print your logo/message upside down, and if nothing else, it would make all the right handed folk look twice at the pen!!

Using a promotional pen designed for left handed people

Using a promotional pen designed for left handed people

Using a promotional pen designed for left handed people

Using a promotional pen designed for left handed people

One Response to “Do You Go After The Herd – Or Do You Cater For Minorities?”

  1. John Evans Says:

    Or use those pens you highlighted recently which are all-round printed?

Leave a Reply

