Agencies Building A Shopping List

Sometimes, you simply HAVE to say enough’s enough….. NO.

My business RT Promotions does a lot of work with Agencies. Agencies aren’t the real client. they are acting on behalf of clients, usually doing a whole load of work: brochures, adverts, branding, launch party, new stationery, etc, etc…. and my line of work, promotional gifts is just a small smidgeon of what the client may or may not require. Along with all the other stuff, the agency will take care of the promotional gifts, working via companies like mine. Not quite in partnership, but a close relation.

Now my company works with a LOT of agencies, and a good many of them are regular providers. In general, they know their clients really well. When they give me a brief its a good one, and if its not, and I ask a question, they know their client well enough to be able to answer my question immediately on the clients behalf. My point isn’t about this type of agency, its about the lazy ones, the ones who are speculatively pitching for work, and come to me for ideas, and who don’t have the faintest idea of the detail or the implications.

A typical enquiry from them reads like a manic shopping list. There will always be a minimuim of ten products, and each product will habve crazy quantity break options, as well as crazy colour/branding options. Let me show you how just one product might look:

1: Rubber gripped pen, in red, with a one colour print to the barrel. Show me pricing for 250, 500, 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000.
2: Rubber gripped pen, in red, with a two colour print to the barrel. Show me pricing for 250, 500, 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000.
3: Rubber gripped pen, in red, with a three colour print to the barrel. Show me pricing for 250, 500, 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000.
4: Rubber gripped pen, in red, with a full colour print to the barrel. Show me pricing for 250, 500, 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000.

Just this ONE pen enquiry, just one item from a list of maybe ten, breaks down to twenty price options, and let me tell you, requests like this are not uncommon!!! 

It’s crazy, lazy, and demonstrates a complete lack of understanding of both MY demands, and more importantly, the requirements of the client. 

I had a chat with an agency friend today, who was asking for crazy quotes, and needed them back in the hour, and explained, in detail to him, why I was REFUSING to take part. It was a waste of both my time, and his. My time is better spent working with clients, not shopping lists.

Leave a Reply

