Marketing Can Be Puzzling

You know, some of my suppliers make comments to me like “You don’t want to suggest an idea like that Richard…. it’s old hat, it’s not new”, and I think they are wrong. Just because a promotional product has been on the market for a while, years even, doesn’t make the product a bad idea for my clients. It’s only the people in the know, the people in the industry, that see these items as ‘tired’. If you’ve never seen the product before, you’ll look upon it as a new and original idea to market your products or services, and any way, it’s not the ‘product’, it’s the other factors that make the difference: who, what, when, where, how, and why, and biggest of all…. what will your artwork look like on the gift.

A jigsaw coaster

A jigsaw coaster

Let’s take one simple example shall we. These Puzzle Coffee Coasters have been on the market for many years, and yet they still have a part to play in any companies marketing plan. The idea is very simple, and can be played out in many different ways. I’ve worked with clients that had FOUR different service offerings or messages, and they used each segment of the coaster to get the message across. One company even sent out just one corner of the puzzle in a mailshot, teasing their customers to anticipate their next postal delivery, and to understand the completed puzzles message. How neat is that?

The point here is that it’s not the product, it’s the way you use it that counts.

I have a particular fondness for coffee coasters as I feel they are often overlooked. In my opinion, they are a superb low cost, desk-top promotional gift. Let your competitors give away the expensive and difficult to mail-out coffee mugs, and go for these. Think about it… even the most expensive coffee mug needs a coaster to sit on, there on your customers desks, being viewed day after day. I call that ‘memory hook marketing’.

So you see, marketing can be puzzling, and that may not be a bad idea after all.

2 Responses to “Marketing Can Be Puzzling”

  1. When I first approached RT Promotions about what I could do that would differentiate my organisation at a show I was presenting at, I was amazed at the amount of attention I was given to determine just the right product to get my message across. Richard, in particular, spent time talking me through why different products would work, and why others wouldn’t and then gave feedback to the graphic designers who were doing my artwork as well.

    We settled on these wonderful coffee coasters for two reasons. The first was because they would hang around on Surgeons and GP desks, providing a useful little ‘memory hook’ every time a patient came in who might need to use our services; but also because they were different; they encourage you to pick them up and play with them.

    Everyone that saw the coasters at the show wanted them, and not only that, they wanted to know who had done them for me too. I’ve already had calls from doctors and nurses who were given the coasters asking for more information which just goes to show how effective something even this simple can be. So thank you Richard, you were spot on with your recommendation and advice!

  2. Thank you Linda!!!

Leave a Reply

